Early Years Curriculum


In Reception at Breakwater Academy we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, which sets out learning for children aged 0-6. It involves play based activities and experiences and covers seven different areas.  We plan a rich, creative and challenging curriculum, which is based on our observation of children’s needs, interests and stages of development and covers all the areas of learning with a cross-curricular approach.



The seven areas of learning are split into prime areas and specific areas. The prime areas focus on children’s capacity to learn, healthy development and the importance of building good relationships with others.  As children grow and mature in the prime areas, they become ready to develop and acquire skills and knowledge in the specific areas.


The Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language


The Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each of the areas has its own learning goals. By the end of Reception most children should have made significant progress towards achieving these goals.